95 W. Veterans Hwy, Jackson, NJ 08527 Tel # 732-928-1200

The Township Registrar's office is open Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m to 4:00 p.m.  If you are only available during lunch

time hours (12:00 - 2:00 p.m.), please contact the Registrar's Office first, as the office may be closed for lunch.  Requests

for copies of certificates can be made in person at 95 West Veterans Highway, Jackson, NJ 08527 or the appropriate

information and payment may be mailed to the same address with "Registrar's Office" clearly marked on the envelope. 

All checks should be made payable to Jackson Township and enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope with the request.
      

Tel #: 732-928-1200 X1201

Fax #: 732-928-4377

 

What's Required?

Records are kept in the town where the event occurred. Certificates for births, deaths, or marriages which occurred in Jackson Township only can be provided by this office.

Birth Certificate A fee of $10.00 per copy
Certified Copy of A Death Certificate A fee of $10.00 per copy
Certified Copy of A Marriage Certificate A fee of $10.00 per copy

Application For A Marriage License

File for the license in the town where the Couple is a resident.

If the couple are NOT residents of New Jersey then file in the town where the Marriage is taking place. If the couple are not residents of New Jersey the marriage MUST take place in the town where the license is issued. It will not be accepted in any other town.

There is a 72 hour waiting period from the time you make application for the marriage license until the time you can pick up the license.

 Requirements For A Marriage License

The following people must appear before the Registrar:

The Couple
One witness over the age of 18

The following must be shown at the time of the Marriage License Application:

Birth Certificates
Driver's Licenses
Social Security Cards

If one of the couple or both are divorced, the Registrar must be shown a copy of the Final Decree of Divorce signed by a judge. The document must include the docket number and filed date.

If one of the couple or both are widow or widower, the Registrar must be shown a copy of the death certificate of the deceased spouse.

Any person under the age of 18 needs parental consent papers signed by both parents. If under the age of 16, parental consent papers and a form signed by the judge are required. These forms are available at the Registrar's Office.

No License will be released from this office without the following information:

Intended date of the wedding
Name and address of the person performing the wedding
Intended location of the wedding
A fee of $28.00 paid in cash

 


Follow Us

Join Our Mailing List

About Jackson Township

During 1994, we celebrated the 150th year of Jackson's existence as an incorporated municipality in the State of New Jersey. As the handwritten Legislative Act reads, "Having been three times read in the Council (the State Senate) on February 29, 1844,"

Read more...